Civic University Agreement sets out ambitious plans

A Civic University Agreement, developed by the University of Derby, has been launched in partnership with 15 other organisations from across the city and county.

Derbyshire Voluntary Action is one of the organisations that has signed the Agreement, this is as part of our role in Community Chesterfield which is a partnership project between Derbyshire Voluntary Action and the University of Derby.

The Agreement, created following extensive consultation, clearly articulates the long-term civic ambitions of the University, and how it intends to work with these 15 signatories to drive forward the local recovery and regeneration of Derby and Derbyshire, helping to channel aspirations, support local communities, share knowledge and enhance the area’s overall offer and vibrancy.

It focuses on five core goals, designed to make a positive impact on the people, communities, organisations and businesses within Derby and Derbyshire:

  1. Secure our future
  2. Drive ambition and positive change
  3. Make a positive environmental impact
  4. Support health and wellbeing
  5. Invest in culture as a driver for change

The development of Civic University Agreements was a key recommendation in a report published in 2019 by the Civic University Commission set up by the UPP Foundation and chaired by the former Head of the Civil Service, Lord Kerslake.

The report sets out how universities like Derby have the capability, opportunity and responsibility to support the places where they are based to solve some of their most pressing and major problems. These issues range from helping local businesses adapt to technological change, to boosting the health of local people, improving education for school pupils and adult learners, and training and developing new civic leaders in every field from politics to the arts.

The report aims to help universities build on the excellent work that many of them are already carrying out in these areas, working alongside councils, employers, cultural institutions, schools and further education colleges.

The signatories of the Civic University Agreement are:
University of Derby, Chesterfield Royal Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, DHU Healthcare, University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust, Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust, Derbyshire County Council, Derby City Council, East Midlands Chamber, D2N2 Local Enterprise Partnership, Chesterfield Borough Council, Derby Cathedral, Derbyshire Voluntary Action, Derby’s Cultural Education Partnership, Derbyshire Police and Crime Commissioner and High Peak Borough Council.

Read the full press release here.